What is now known as Ministry of Science and Technology was first established as Bureau of Science and Technology under the Governor’s Office by His Excellency, Obong Victor Attah in the year 2000. The Special Adviser on Science and Technology then was Engr. (Dr.) Linus Asuquo and the Permanent Secretary was Obong Mkpoette Efanga.
In 2004, the Bureau was upgraded to a full-fledged Ministry of Science and Technology under the leadership of Engr. (Dr.) Linus Asuquo as the pioneer Hon. Commissioner and Obong Mkpoette Efanga as the pioneer Permanent Secretary.
The Ministry over the years has grown under the leadership and tutelage of many Commissioners and Permanent Secretaries. 
Akwa Ibom State shall aspire to be recognised for Excellence in ‘Science and Technology’ both Nationally and Internationally, and shall use the knowledge of Science and Technology to develop the human intellectual capital of her citizens and for creation of wealth.
Science and Technology shall be the epicenter of knowledge for education, economic, and cultural development in Akwa Ibom State.
Science and Technology shall be used to maintain a healthy, well informed and happy citizenry by applying science and technology to enhance provision of adequate and suitable food, shelter, education, sanitary environment, basic and social amenities and improved health care and health delivery for all citizens.
The Ministerial responsibilities of the Ministry are carried out through Eight (8) Directorates namely:
Science     – Mr. Gerald Gordian Inoh
Renewable Energy/Science Promotions  – Mr. Okon Asibong Ntoketi 
Information Communication/
Technology    – Mr. Dominic Augustin Essien
Administration    – Mr. Mfon Ekereke Udokang
Accounts     – Mrs. Arit Okon
Engineering    – Engr. Itam Edet Utip
Planning Research and
Statistics    – Mr. Sunday Ekpene
Technology    – Mr. Uneh Akpan Peters
In carrying out its activities, the Ministry has been guided by its core mandate which include: Capacity building in Information Communication Technology (ICT), Technology Entrepreneurial Training, Popularisation of Science and Innovations, Renewable Energy, development of Ibom Science Park and of course Industrialsation which is the main focus of this administration.
The Government of Akwa Ibom State from 29th May, 2015 ably led by His Excellency, Mr. Udom Emmanuel has made remarkable achievements in the area of Science and Technology.
During the tenure of this administration, the Ministry of Science and Technology has partnered the following companies in the development of human capacity: Oracle, Google, IBM, Microsoft, Mind-the-Gap, Hyundai Heavy Industry, Halliburton Energy Services and Broadbased Communication Ltd. Others are Blue Sea International Holdings Group Co. Ltd., Chevron Plc, Ibom Smart City, GVE Project Ltd, Hotels. ng, National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) and the Federal Government of Nigeria. Together, with the emphasis Mr. Udom Emmanuel’s administration laid on Science and Technology, the companies and the Federal Government Agencies listed above really made a great difference in the development of Science and Technology in Akwa Ibom State. 
The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry is Engr. (Sir) Nicholas Idungafa
Projects/Programmes Executed by the present Administration